Cart
(0)
Total
0,- €
incl. VAT
SHOW CART
Cart Cart
0
Incentive Travel
Cart
(0)
Total
0,- €
incl. VAT
SHOW CART
Cart Cart
0

Targa Florio Tribute Tour

This tour is built entirely around the famous Targa Florio, with directions that lead you northwest through Sicily. You will stay in Cefalú for the beginning of our excursions on the historic crossroads of the “Gran Circuito del Madonie”. In Palermo you will experience the opening celebration of the Targa Florio and the start of the rally at the “Museo Storico dei Motori”.
Alfa Romeo Spider Giulia Cabrio veloce cote d'azur Meer Strand | Nostalgic OldtimerreisenOldtimerreise im Alfa Romeo von NostalgicAlfa Romeo Giulia rot | Nostalgic OldtimerreisenNostalgic Oldtimer Incentive und Oldtimerevents (5)Alfa Romeo Giulia Spider rot | Nostalgic Oldtimerreisen
Your Expert

Walter Laimer
Your expert for
this tour

Tel. +49 (0)89 545406-0
wl@nostalgic.de

No suitable date available? From 8 persons we plan your trip to the desired date – please contact our travel experts.
Clear

Amount

Can't find a suitable date? Starting with a group of 12 people, we can plan your trip for your desired date - ask our travel experts.

2.350,- €

2.350,- €

Per person in double room *

Description
Region
Includes
Reviews

Gran Circuito delle Madonie – Tribute to Vincenzo Florio

 Day 1: Cefalù and Madonie

We await you at the "Falcone e Borsellino" airport outside of Palermo and accompany you to Cefalù, the chic seaside resort of the island's capital. A turquoise blue sea, long sandy beaches, hidden private villas and hotel complexes from the 1970s frame the port city, which is characterized by the majestic Norman cathedral. After checking in at the "Vallegrande Nature Resort", ten minutes drive from Cefalù, we present you our Alfa Romeo Spider. You choose your favorites from our fleet every day and familiarize yourself with the classic cars and the route on an introductory lap. In the evening we accompany you to the old town, where you can talk to your fellow travelers over a typical Sicilian dinner.

Day 2: Gran Circuito delle Madonie

Today's stage is all about the history of the Targa Florio. The "Parco Regionale delle Madonie", with its narrow, winding country roads, was the scene of fierce competition at the beginning of the 20th century during the first editions of the "Targa Florio". It's a bare but graceful mountain setting that you wouldn't expect to find on the island. In the ravines and serpentines, the torque of our Alfa Romeo is at its best, this is where the "cuore sportivo", the sporty heart of our fleet, is at its best. In Collesano, the history of the race, its triumphs and legends are retold in a small museum in the town hall. Today's route is one of the most beautiful in the Nostalgic itinerary, so we recommend a relaxing dinner at the hotel in the evening to unwind.

Day 3: Floriopoli and the Backlands

After the driver briefing, turn the ignition key on our Alfa Romeo and head west. Past the historic grandstands and pit lanes of Floriopoli, the route spirals deep into the backlands, deserted streets of breathtaking beauty. And yet there are plenty of villas along the way; the typical Sicilian villages for a spontaneous coffee stop. We plan a lunch break in Roccapalumba before returning to Cefalù by another mountain route.

Day 4: Palermo, The Pulsing Heart of Sicily

Today, after breakfast and check-out, enjoy the coast of Cefalù heading east to Santo Stefano di Camastra. In the early afternoon we accompany you to the old town of Palermo, the beating heart of Sicily. Your boutique hotel "Quinto Canto" is located in a former noble palace right on the square of the "Quattro Canti", which is framed by baroque architecture. After checking in, you will get to know the most important sights on an extensive guided tour. Your last evening in Sicily ends with a traditional dinner in the old town.

Day 5: The Start of the Targa Florio

At the end of your five-day trip, experience racing history up close. The "Museo Storico dei Motori e dei Meccanismi" is also housed on the premises of the University of Palermo, here you will find the "pit lane" of today's editions of the Targa Florio. Drivers and participant vehicles are ready to be inspected here, and you have the chance to talk about petrol under the Sicilian sun. Soak up the atmosphere, the hustle and bustle around the launch pad, and then enjoy free time in the city center before we escort you to Palermo Airport for your flights home in the afternoon.

*  Price per person in a double room and two people in the car. We reserve the right to make changes to the program if these become necessary due to changes in the route or the program of the "Targa Florio".

The Targa Florio is the oldest endurance race in the world, even older than the Indianapolis 500, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Mille Miglia. In the 1920s, the Targa Florio was the most prestigious race in the world.

At the turn of the last century, the largest island in the Mediterranean, Sicily, was home to an extremely influential and wealthy family of entrepreneurs who maintained close ties with the royal houses and the moneyed aristocracy of Europe. In their homeland, the Florio family owned extensive estates - and there was one scion who was crazy about automobiles.

Vincenzo Florio had a great passion for car racing and took part in various races in Italy and France. In 1906, he organised a race himself for the first time, the winner of which was awarded a plaque - 'targa' in Italian: the 'Targa Florio' was born, in the Madonia Mountains, some 200 km east of the capital Palermo. The extremely demanding 140 km circuit very soon became a fixed meeting place for the European racing driver elite. While Alfa Romeo, Bugatti and Maserati still dominated in the beginning, Ferrari and Porsche contested the victories in the post-war period. With 11 overall victories, the Stuttgart-based sports car manufacturer remained the most successful overall winner of the Targa Florio. The 911 model with the removable coupé roof was subsequently named after the race.

Palermo, the capital of Sicily, lies in the northwest of the island and is the largest and most important city with more than 600,000 inhabitants. Palermo has a large number of outstanding sights (7 buildings alone belong to the UNESCO World Heritage Site) which were built by the Arabs, the Normans but above all by the Staufers. King Frederick II turned Palermo into a splendid residence; during his reign, the Norman Palace, the Palatine Chapel and the Cathedral, where Frederick II and Henry VI are buried, were built. When sulphur became important as a raw material for the production of firearms, Sicily achieved further economic prosperity, which made neoclassical buildings such as the Teatro Massimo, one of the largest opera houses in Europe, possible.

The Madonie Nature Park is located in the north of Sicily and is the highest mountain massif on the island after Mount Etna, with elevations of up to almost 2,000 metres. The Florio family owned extensive land and forests here, and had their own road built here, which later formed the "Circuito delle Madonie" and was the main part of the Targa Florio. Today, the nature reserve is a hiker's paradise and home to over 60% of all species of flora and fauna native to Sicily.

  • Transfer Palermo Airport (PMO) to the hotel and back as well as on location
  • Nostalgic Alfa Romeo classic car for self-drive including full comprehensive and passenger insurance, and fuel
  • 1 overnight stay in the Hotel "Quinto Canto" ****, Palermo
  • 3 overnight stays in "Vallegrande Nature Resort" near Cefalú
  • 2 dinner and 1 lunch
  • Admission fees, guided sightseeing according to itinerary
  • English-speaking guide and service team during the entire trip
  • roadbook
  • Welcome Gift

Not included in the arrangement:

Meals, unless otherwise indicated, travel to Palermo (PMO)

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sizilien: Targa Florio Tribute Tour”

Your email address will not be published.

other destinations

Nostalgic GmbH & Co.KG

Balanstraße 73 / 81541 München
Office: +49 (0)89 5454060
Fax: +49 (0)89 5454066
E-mail: info@nostalgic.de

Nostalgic is the premium provider for unforgettable adventure trips & incentive travel with vintage cars as well as an exclusive partner of Mercedes-Benz.
Founder by name Walter Laimer Gert Pichler - Nostalgic Oldtimerreisen

Register for the Nostalgic Newsletter

nostalgic newsletter

Join over 5000 other Classic Car fans!

  • Always well informed about the Mille Miglia
  • VIP access to new trips & appointments
  • Exclusive discount promotions
  • Exciting insights behind the scenes
  • Insider tips from our travel experts

Subscribe to the free newsletter now and be inspired!

Copyright 2021 Nostalgic GmbH & Co. KG - Classic Car Tours

Warenkorb
(0)
Gesamtsumme
0,- €
inkl. MwSt.
ZUM Warenkorb
Warenkorb Warenkorb
0
Incentives
Warenkorb
(0)
Gesamtsumme
0,- €
inkl. MwSt.
ZUM Warenkorb
Warenkorb Warenkorb
0

Sizilien: Targa Florio Tribute Tour

Diese Reise steht ganz im Zeichen der berühmten Targa Florio und führt Sie in den Nord-Westen von Sizilien. Ein charmantes Landhotel ist Ausgangspunkt für die Ausfahrten auf den historischen Rennstrecken des "Gran Circuito delle Madonie". In Palermo erleben Sie die Eröffnungsfeier der Targa Florio und den Start der Rallye am "Museo Storico dei Motori".
Alfa Romeo Spider Giulia Cabrio veloce cote d'azur Meer Strand | Nostalgic OldtimerreisenOldtimerreise im Alfa Romeo von NostalgicAlfa Romeo Giulia rot | Nostalgic OldtimerreisenNostalgic Oldtimer Incentive und Oldtimerevents (5)Alfa Romeo Giulia Spider rot | Nostalgic Oldtimerreisen
IHR EXPERTE

Walter Laimer
Ihr Experte für
diese Reise

Tel. +49 (0)89 545406-0
wl@nostalgic.de

Kein passender Termin dabei? Ab 8 Personen planen wir Ihre Reise zum Wunschtermin – fragen Sie unsere Reiseexperten.
Auswahl zurücksetzen

Anzahl

Kein passender Termin dabei? Ab 12 Personen planen wir Ihre Reise zum Wunschtermin – fragen Sie unsere Reiseexperten.

2.350,- €

2.350,- €

Preis pro Person im Doppelzimmer *

ReiseBeschreibung
Region
Leistungen
Bewertungen

Gran Circuito delle Madonie - Tribute to Vincenzo Florio

 1. Tag: Cefalù und die Madonie

Wir erwarten Sie am Flughafen "Falcone e Borsellino" außerhalb von Palermo und begleiten Sie nach Cefalù, dem schicken Badeort der Inselhauptstadt. Ein türkisblaues Meer, langgedehnte Sandstrände, versteckte Privatvillen und Hotelburgen aus den 1970er Jahren umrahmen die Hafenstadt, die von der majestätischen normannischen Kathedrale geprägt ist. Nach dem Check-in im „Vallegrande Nature Resort“ zehn Autominuten von Cefalù entfernt präsentieren wir Ihnen unsere Alfa Romeo Spider. Sie wählen aus unserer Flotte jeden Tag Ihren Favoriten und machen sich auf einer Einführungsrunde mit den Oldtimern und der Streckenführung vertraut. Abends begleiten wir Sie in die Altstadt, wo Sie bei einem typisch sizilianischen Abendessen mit Ihren Mitreisenden ins Gespräch kommen.

2. Tag: Gran Circuito delle Madonie

Die heutige Tagesetappe steht ganz im Zeichen der Geschichte der Targa Florio. Der „Parco Regionale delle Madonie“ mit seinen schmalen, kurvenreichen Landstraßen war Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts Schauplatz erbitterter Wettkämpfe um Sekunden während der ersten Ausgaben der "Targa Florio". Es handelt sich um eine karge, aber anmutige Gebirgslandschaft, die Sie nicht auf der Insel erwartet hätten. In den Schluchten und Serpentinen kommt das Drehmoment unserer Alfa Romeo in Höchstform, hier kommt das „cuore sportivo“, das sportliche Herz unserer Flotte, in Höchstform. In Collesano wird die Geschichte des Rennens, seine Triumphe und Legenden in einem kleinen Museum im Rathaus nacherzählt. Die heutige Streckenführung ist eine der schönstem im Reiseprogramm von Nostalgic, daher empfehlen wir Ihnen abends ein entspanntes Abendessen im Hotel.

3. Tag: Floriopoli und das Hinterland

Nach dem Fahrerbriefing drehen Sie die Zündschlüssel unserer Alfa Romeo und es geht erstmal nach Westen. Vorbei an den historischen Tribünen und Boxengassen von Floriopoli schraubt sich die Strecke tief ins Hinterland, menschenleere Strassen von atemberaubender Schönheit. Und dennoch gibt es sie unterwegs, die typisch sizilianischen Dörfchen für einen spontanen Kaffeestopp. Die Mittagspause ist in Roccapalumba geplant, bevor Sie auf einer anderen Bergstrecke wieder nach Cefalù gelangen.

4. Tag: Palermo, das pulsierende Herz Siziliens

Nach dem Frühstück und Check-out genießen Sie heute die Küste von Cefalù Richtung Osten bis nach Santo Stefano di Camastra. Am frühen Nachmittag begleiten wir Sie in die Altstadt von Palermo, dem pulsierenden Herzen von Sizilien. Direkt am Platz der von barocker Architektur eingerahmten „Quattro Canti“ befindet sich Ihr Boutique Hotel „Quinto Canto“ in einem ehemaligen Adelspalast. Nach dem Check-in lernen Sie die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten bei einem ausgiebigen geführten Rundgang kennen. Ihr letzter Abend in Sizilien klingt mit einem traditionellen Abendessen in der Altstadt aus.

5. Tag: Start der Targa Florio

Zum Abschluss Ihrer fünftägigen Reise erleben Sie Rennsportgeschichte hautnah. Auf dem Gelände der Universität von Palermo ist auch das „Museo Storico dei Motori e dei Meccanismi“ untergebracht, gewissermassen die „Boxengasse“ der heutigen Ausgaben der Targa Florio. Hier stehen Fahrer und Teilnehmerfahrzeuge parat, um in Augenschein genommen zu werden, Benzingespräche unter sizilianischer Sonne gewissermassen. Genießen Sie die Atmosphäre und den Trubel rund um die Startrampe, und anschließend Zeit zur freien Verfügung im Stadtzentrum, bevor wir Sie am Nachmittag für Ihre Heimreise zum Flughafen Palermo begleiten.

*  Preis pro Person im Doppelzimmer und zu zweit im Auto. Wir behalten uns Änderungen am Programmablauf vor, wenn diese durch Änderungen im Streckenverlauf oder dem Programm der „Targa Florio“ notwendig werden.

Die Targa Florio ist das älteste Langstreckenrennen der Welt, noch älter als Indianapolis 500, die 24 Stunden von Le Mans und die Mille Miglia. In den 1920er Jahren war die Targa Florio das prestigeträchtigste Rennen der Welt.

Auf der größten Insel des Mittelmeeres, Sizilien, lebte um die vorige Jahrhundertwende eine überaus einflussreiche und äußerst wohlhabende Unternehmerfamilie, die enge Beziehungen zu den Königshäusern und dem Geldadel Europas pflegte. In ihrer Heimat besaß die Familie Florio ausgedehnte Ländereien – und es gab einen Spross, der verrückt nach Automobilen war.

Vincenzo Florio hatte eine große Leidenschaft für Autorennen und nahm an verschiedenen Rennen in Italien und Frankreich teil. 1906 organisierte er zum ersten Mal selbst ein Rennen, dessen Sieger mit einer Plakette – italienisch ‚targa‘ – ausgezeichnet wurde: die ‚Targa Florio‘ war geboren, und zwar in den Madonia-Bergen, rund 200 km östlich der Hauptstadt Palermo. Der äußerst anspruchsvolle Rundkurs über 140 km wurde sehr bald zum festen Treffpunkt der europäischen Rennfahrer Elite. Während anfangs noch Alfa Romeo, Bugatti und Maserati dominierten, machten sich in der Nachkriegszeit Ferrari und Porsche die Siege streitig. Mit 11 Gesamtsiegen blieb der Stuttgarter Sportwagenhersteller der erfolgreichste Gesamtsieger der Targa Florio. Das Modell 911 mit dem abnehmbaren Coupé-Dach wurde daraufhin nach dem Rennen benannt.

Palermo, die Hauptstadt Siziliens liegt im Nordwesten der Insel und ist mit mehr als 600.000 Einwohnern die größte und wichtigste Stadt. Palermo besitzt eine Vielzahl herausragender Sehenswürdigkeiten (allein 7 Bauwerke gehören zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe) die von den Arabern, den Normannen aber vor allem von den Staufern erbaut wurden. König Friedrich II. baute Palermo zu einer glanzvollen Residenz aus, in seine Regentschaft fiel der Ausbau des Normannenpalastes, der Pfalzkapelle und der Kathedrale, wo Friedrich II. und Heinrich VI. begraben sind. Als für die Produktion von Feuerwaffen Schwefel als Rohstoff wichtig wurde, gelangte Sizilien zu einer weiteren wirtschaftlichen Blüte, welche neoklassizistische Bauten wie das Teatro Massimo, eines der größten Opernhäuser Europas, ermöglichten.

Der Naturpark Madonie liegt im Norden Siziliens und ist nach dem Ätna das höchste Bergmassiv der Insel mit Erhebungen bis knapp 2000 m. Hier besaß die Familie Florio weitläufige Ländereien und Wälder, hier ließ sie eine eigene Straße bauen, welche später den „Circuito delle Madonie“ bildete und Hauptteil der Targa Florio war. Das Naturreservat ist heute ein Wanderparadies und Heimat für über 60% aller auf Sizilien beheimateten Spezies in Flora und Fauna.

  • Hin-/ Retourtransfer vom Flughafen Palermo (PMO) zum Hotel
  • Nostalgic-Alfa Romeo Spider zum Selbstfahren inkl. Vollkaskovers. (500 € SB), Benzin
  • 1 Ü/F im Hotel „Quinto Canto“ ****, Palermo
  • 3 Ü/F im "Vallegrande Nature Resort" bei Cefalú
  • 1 Mittagessen, 2 Abendessen
  • Eintritte, Führungen lt. Programm
  • Deutschsprachige Reiseleitung und Serviceteam
  • Roadbook
  • Begrüßungsgeschenk

Nicht im Reisepreis enthalten:

Mahlzeiten sofern nicht ausdrücklich eingeschlossen; Anreise nach Palermo (PMO)

Bewertungen

no reviews available, write the first one

Write a short review „Sizilien: Targa Florio Tribute Tour“

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

WEITERE REISEZIELE

Nostalgic GmbH & Co.KG

Balanstraße 73 / 81541 München
Fon: +49 (0)89 5454060
Fax: +49 (0)89 5454066
E-Mail: info@nostalgic.de

Nostalgic ist Premiumanbieter für unvergessliche Erlebnisreisen & - Incentives im Oldtimer sowie exklusiver Partner von Mercedes-Benz.
Gründer mit Namen Walter Laimer Gert Pichler - Nostalgic Oldtimerreisen

Ihre Anmeldung zum Nostalgic Newsletter

nostalgic newsletter

Schließen Sie sich über 5.000 Oldtimer-Fans an!

  • Immer top informiert über die Mille Miglia
  • VIP-Zugang zu neuen Reisen & Terminen
  • Exklusive Rabattaktionen
  • Spannende Einblicke hinter die Kulissen
  • Insider-Tipps von unseren Reise-Experten

Jetzt kostenlos Newsletter abonnieren und inspirieren lassen!

Copyright 2021 Nostalgic GmbH & Co. KG - Oldtimerreisen