Cart
(0)
Total
0,- €
incl. VAT
SHOW CART
Cart Cart
0
Incentive Travel
Cart
(0)
Total
0,- €
incl. VAT
SHOW CART
Cart Cart
0

The Nostalgic Team

Nostalgic has been organizing authentic driving experiences behind the wheel of iconic classics on Europe's dream roads for 18 years.

Who are the people behind Nostalgic? Why do the people behind Nostalgic deserve your trust? Building nostalgic has cost a lot Sweat, tears and heart Despite all odds, we have succeeded in establishing a special tour operator on the market, for customers and fans all over the world, we design our tours so that we are able to share the enthusiasm and emotion of our customers again and again and enjoy the drives as they become even better.

Nostalgic's Managing Directors,Walter Laimer and Gert Pichlerbelieve they would never have come this far without Nostalgic's motivated tour guide and office team.

We would like to introduce our entire team to you.

Meet the team

Gert:

We are always amazed that guests who repeat Nostalgic trips are thrilled in the same fascinating ways as their first experience. Obviously, in the mix of scenery, itineraries, vintage experience and travel time, we always strive to make sure our guests enjoy every moment. We try to take key elements from each trip, regardless of location, because we know it strikes a unique note for every one of the participants. Even with the most careful planning, there are occasional changes in the sequence that manifest in new wonders; e.g. we may occasionally be able to get exclusive access for certain events, or have to shift things around. Our goal though is that we make sure the entire program can be experienced to its fullest extent, even if the order may change. For the future of Nostalgic, I openly welcome and wish for our guests to evaluate and comment on their journeys. We would like to know exactly what our guests want, to help us tackle and improve our prospective trips and current ones. We would like to see it from your view. This can begin with the ideal length of driving days, route changes and shifts, and continue on to the choices of food, when we leave, and where we go in each city.

Walter:

A classic automobile, no matter what brand, is a piece of history, and history has always fascinated me. At Nostalgic we try to revive and maintain a nice picture of the past. This works independently of whether you drive at the wheel of a Giulietta Spider through a small Italian village and drink at the Piazza Cappuccino, or with the Mercedes-Benz SL “Pagoda” at the Café de La Fontaine in the hinterland of Provence. Believe it or not, even Tegernsee also attracts a certain amount of attention with our perfectly well-maintained VW Beetle Cabriolets. With our travels, we want to create the backdrop for an authentic experience, a framework in which conversations with a couple in a vintage car can be conducted. Our task is to create a closeness, something especially desired with incentive travel. It may sound a little bit backwards, but at Nostalgic you can slow down by gas. After 18 years, we can still feel like founders of a grand company, and the direction is right: upwards.

Lucie:

As a tourist trainee at the ADAC (Germany Automobile Club) I immediately struck gold when Nostalgic was looking for a Junior Event Manager for the office in Munich. I speak Italian and love Italy, moreover I love cars and especially classic cars, and exchanging advice with customers on the phone is a huge spark of fun to me. It has been a great challenge, but always enjoyable. Our guests come from all over the world, but thanks to extensive product training and my experience from the travel agency, we have everything under control by our small, but fine team. From time to time I also have the chance to take part in events myself, where I get to know the service providers personally. The latter makes it easier to avoid many cliffhangers from the daily work in the office.

Michael:

After graduating high school, I studied marketing in Munich and quickly developed a strong interest in event management. Whether at BMW, Porsche or Ferrari, my life has always been shaped by high-quality automobiles that fascinate me down to the smallest detail. After years of experience with new high-performance machines, I decided to pursue my enthusiasm for automotive history at Nostalgic - I was able to go back to the roots, so to speak. At first I thought to myself that the oldtimers are only gas-guzzlers, offer little comfort, and even less driving aids - things like park pilot or cruise control - and yet after a short time I could hardly escape their magic! The driving experience in a Giulia Spider or a pagoda cannot be compared to that of a new car. In the meantime, I can say that a classic for me is a cultural asset and even art, which I can move myself when participating in events. In my opinion, these great cars should be preserved at all costs, and not just in museums, but on the streets of the world. So it's all the more great that Nostalgic is making this dream come true with extraordinary trips.

Khari:

My name is Khari Henderson, I’m 26 years old from Albuquerque, New Mexico in the U.S. I’ve been learning German for about 10 years now, and I was fortunate to be an exchange student in Germany in 2012. I studied in Texas near Dallas at University of North Texas and after graduating, moved here to Munich in 2018 to get my Masters in English Studies from Ludwig-Maximilian University. Naturally I love cars, and have worked with my grandfather on his baby blue ‘69 Ford Bronco for many years of my life. In his memory, I am happy to have the opportunity to work with classics from around the world and put the knowledge he gave me to good use. Nostalgic has been a fantastic student job for me with all the right responsibilities. I speak in German while gradually trying to improve daily. I also feel valued as a native speaker in that I can help our ever-growing guests from the U.S.A. So as a fellow speaker, though all of the team speaks fantastic English, I am always happy to give an additional bit of confidence for the Nostalgic team.

David:

Italienisch gelernt habe ich während meines Auslandssemesters in Turin, derzeit studiere ich im Master Eventmanagement an der dreisprachigen Universität in Bozen. Mein Reisehighlight war die Carl-Benz-Tour rund um Stuttgart, die Begeisterung unserer Gäste im Mercedes-Museum und die Ehrfurcht in den „Heiligen Hallen“ in Fellbach – sensationell. Obwohl mir die Alfa Romeo Oldtimer sehr gut gefallen, ist die Marke mit dem Stern mein Favorit, auch privat fahre ich einen Mercedes-Benz Youngtimer! Leider habe ich mir im vergangenen Sommer beim Street Surfing den Arm gebrochen und konnte die Sizilien-Reise zur Targa Florio nicht begleiten, aber demnächst steht die auf meiner Agenda.

Alex:

On the Nostalgic driving trips the South is always what calls me, although my home in the Dolomites is known for cold, snow, and skiing. I am fortunate to have always worked in a big car repair shop owned by my uncle during my summers: I have worked on many classics with them and feel comfortable behind the wheel. I think on my past trips the most exhilarating experience I have had was to renew a starter motor during one of our lunch breaks over the Amalfi Coast while overlooking the Azure Sea. If you know about the cars, it can even work without a lift. A funny story is that while we stayed at Sorrento as our base camp for the Alfa Romeo trips to the Amalfi Coast. We flew one of our drones over the hotel in order to get a view of all the vintage cars; a seagull attacked us! Although ending our tours with the guest at an authentic and welcoming dinner in the old port of Sorrento, “Z’Intonio al Mare” is still something truly worth experiencing.

Ludwig:

I am happy to say that I’m now the longest-serving tour guide, but my job interview back then was pretty bumpy. I thought it was important to mention that I’m in the Porsche cup – it did not impress my soon-to-be bosses. It was much more important to show that I had what it took to keep discerning guests in good moods and handle tough situations on tours. Gert and Walter, the two founders of Nostalgic, are confidently tough. They manage to inspire their teams and to motivate them in the long term. The most frequent question asked by my guests over the four dozen events was: “Which Nostalgic journey is the best?” I can never give only one answer: Tuscany, full of postcard motifs and Carlas divine tagliatelle al Tartufo in the “Bottega di Volpaia”? Or the Lago Maggiore with its 1950s flair and the pavilion of the Castello Seeschloß in Ascona, where the lunch break cannot be long enough? Maybe it’s Southern France around Saint-Remy-de-Provence, the Abbey of Senanque and Gordes. The decision is never easy. I remember at one point, I had to check the Roadbook many times just over fifty kilometers – in the middle of the night! I had never seen so many foxes, deer, and wild boars before. We made it through without incident though! Between seasons, just so that the winter break doesn’t take too long too, I scout lonely pre-alpine roads in Bavaria for photo shootings with the VW Beetle Cabriolets.

Julius:

Unfortunately, Nostalgic (still) doesn’t have a Riva boat to use, because the moment it does that would be my area: especially as a sailor with a high-sea boat license. My favorite trip is Piedmont. It is less about the delicious and more affordable wines compared to Tuscany, but more about the original, impeccable landscape. It is an exceptionally unique experience to navigate the open Alfa Romeos on those lonely passage roads south of Alba towards Vicoforte, where you are led at dizzying heights around the dome of the Sanctuary. Then a first-class lunch in the frescoed refectory of the monastery. Do I have a favorite classic car on Nostalgic? My favorite is the Mercedes-Benz R 107, straight with automatic gear Cruiser and sporting ambitions, even for tall drivers it’s extremely comfortable. I have not been on the team for so long, but the international mix of guests, the careful preparation of the trips and the consistently high quality of vintage cars make working as a tour guide at Nostalgic an absolute dream job!

Christopher:

After my apprenticeship as an electrical engineer, I completed high school and am now studying Geography for teaching. Cars have always been a passion of mine though, so I left my job as a bike tour operator immediately when I heard back from Nostalgic. As a tour guide, we take care of that “carefree” feeling we want our guests to have. In the background we are the team that make sure the critical situations are handled masterfully, even in larger groups. On one of my very first trips with Nostalgic we started with almost 60 open-top classics for an afternoon drive. The sky was cloudy, but no rain, but after just a few kilometers of driving, we started feeling the first drops suddenly, and we had to rush to close every single roof… That was fun! You won’t find my favorite restaurant in any guides. The Trattoria “Don Santo” is a special one inconspicuously in the mountains near Sicily. In my opinion the incredible taste alone is reason enough to fly out there! For the 2020 season I want to lead the Alfa trip through the “Terra di Motori”; it will have an exciting program of car museums and collections, the castles of the Duchy of Parma and the producers of Parma ham and Aceto balsamico. I’d recommend the extension in Bologna, where the first ever university in Europe was founded too!

Chris:

A surfer friend of mine told me about Nostalgic, and a job opening they were having. I did not know anything about vintage cars, but I do have a lot of experience as a craftsman that I honed as a skilled boat builder from my native Chiemsee area. The job is not so easy to combine with my studies in Austria, Portugal and The Netherlands, but for our guests who love travelling, cars, and new people, these tours are right in their elements. The design and appeal of the Alfas from the fifties is fascinating. It is no wonder that according to Walter no radio in the car is needed as the sound is played by the engine. It is clear to see that the founders are absolutely down-to-earth, and even lend a hand. By juggling fluency in several languages between guests and service providers in Italy and France, you can get a sense of why Nostalgic is gaining more and more guests from abroad. One of my favorite trips was the VW Beetle Tour in Wachau. We went to a winery and designer hotel as our base camp, dream stretches along the Danube, huge monasteries with imposing libraries, and the rattling of the colorful Beetle fleet against a bright blue sky – I ask, what more could you want?

Leo:

If I am not traveling with Nostalgic on the most beautiful stretches of Provence or Tuscany, then I like to go kiteboarding or spear fishing on the Atlantic or Holland in my self-made VW Bulli. If I had to give an inside tip: In Siena, around the corner of the famous Piazza Il Campo, a “Caffé Shakerato” at Nannini – the best for a hot day! Also another exciting aspect are the exclusive tours for our US customers who typically wish to drive almost 1000 km through Germany over the span of a week. Meeting them and showing them around is a personal highlight. I’ve even become so familiar that a night watchman in Dinkelsbühl knows me by name! I think I’m probably the only Nostalgic guide who’s had to fix a flat tire too – during rush hour traffic on the “Promenade des Anglais” in Nizza. Then there is always that much-praised benevolence from the other motorists when compared to the vintage drivers on the road. The best thing about Nostalgic is not the destinations and not the cars – definitely essential, no question – but the team and the cohesion itself is the best in my view. I’m curious to see if this is what I will experience in the future when I devote myself to city planning and have to say a sad farewell to Nostalgic.

Baris

In addition to my work as a tour guide for Nostalgic, I work as a driver for a Mercedes-Benz dealership and engage in student representation. So far, I’ve only been to Tuscany and Lake Maggiore, but hopefully that will change in the coming season. It is exciting for me to get to know regions that I know only by hearsay. By driving down routes and creating roadbooks, I also get into the farthest corners of areas that I am just discovering. This is one of Nostalgic’s specialties: to choose routes in much-visited regions such as Tuscany, where at best a few locals set-off, but otherwise there is no traffic. Best conditions for driving in an open classic car!

Thomas:

Ever since a Friday afternoon when I had to rummage through a series of workshops around Draguignan for a fuel hose, I know what the French mean when they say “durit”, (pronounced “dew-it”) The installation only took a matter of minutes, fortunately, we did not even have to lift the car off of the transporter. I recall too, we had a guest from South America, who absolutely wanted to close the hood of his Pagoda on his own, while he had the roof bow slipped into the top compartment, and it would not move an inch more. In general though, our workshops wait for the vintage cars with such anticipation, but with the exception of a broken light bulb or a spark plug, there is little to fix. For the most part, in my opinion, the South of France: the tours in Provence and the Côte d’Azur are something of a type of automotive gourmet. The variety between sophisticated marinas and picturesque mountain villages, the azure Mediterranean Sea and the turquoise Verdon in the gorge of the same name has something about it. My favorite place is Arles, which was wrongly ranked alongside more well-known cities like Avignon, but it is one of the most important cities in Gaul during Roman times – and you can see that in many monuments. An absolute must for dinner is Joel Toullier’s “Auberge du Vieux Village” in Mallemort, best is from the terrace under the wisteria!

Vincent:

I am one of the youngest tour leader newcomers on the team, but I have been involved in numerous events during my first season. Although I come from Hamburg, I work in winter as a ski instructor at my university Innsbruck. From here I set-out to my assignments in Italy and France for Nostalgic. I do not have a favorite restaurant just yet, but I do have a preferred destination: Tuscany, whether in Alfa Romeo or Mercedes-Benz, is simply the perfect setting for Nostalgic’s travels. Both in the Spring and in the Fall, the environment makes for a good mood. Although we travel less often in classic cars, and often in the escort vehicles, the job is all-round fun. Before I started my studies, I did a lot of job security jobs, so you learn a lot, which definitely helps as a tour guide!

Get to know our team on a classic car tour
Destinations
Order our brochure
The New
Brochure
2021
Request now
Travel Vouchers
Whether it's a birthday present, an anniversary, or a wedding gift: with our gift voucher for an unforgettable classic car tour, you have made the right decision with any classic car fan!
See Details
See Details
IMPRESSIONS FROM THE PRESS
Contact
Nostalgic GmbH & Co.KG

Balanstrasse 73
Building 24, 2nd floor
81541 Munich

Office: +49 (0)89 5454060
Fax: +49 (0)89 5454066
E-mail: info@nostalgic.de

Social media
ABOUT NOSTALGIC
Nostalgic is the premium provider for unforgettable adventure trips & incentive travel with vintage cars as well as an exclusive partner of Mercedes-Benz.
Founder by name Walter Laimer Gert Pichler - Nostalgic Oldtimerreisen
Nostalgic Newsletter

Register for the Nostalgic Newsletter

nostalgic newsletter

Join over 5000 other Classic Car fans!

  • Always well informed about the Mille Miglia
  • VIP access to new trips & appointments
  • Exclusive discount promotions
  • Exciting insights behind the scenes
  • Insider tips from our travel experts

Subscribe to the free newsletter now and be inspired!

Copyright 2021 Nostalgic GmbH & Co. KG - Classic Car Tours

Das Nostalgic-Team

Das Nostalgic-Team

  • Home
  • Das Nostalgic-Team

Nostalgic organisiert seit 18 Jahren authentische Fahrerlebnisse am Steuer ikonischer Klassiker auf den Traumstraßen Europas.

Wer sind die Menschen hinter Nostalgic? Warum verdienen die Menschen hinter Nostalgic Ihr Vertrauen? Nostalgic aufzubauen hat viel Schweiß, Tränen und Herzblut gekostet. Allen Widerständen zum Trotz ist es uns gelungen, einen Spezialreiseveranstalter am Markt zu etablieren, der Kunden und Fans auf der ganzen Welt gewinnen konnte. Die Begeisterung und Emotion unserer Kunden immer wieder teilen zu können, erfüllt uns und treibt uns an, noch besser zu werden.

Wir (Walter Laimer und Gert Pichler) haben zwar Nostalgic gegründet, aber ohne unser motiviertes Reiseleiter- und Backofficeteam wären wir nie so weit gekommen.

Gerne möchten wir Ihnen unser gesamtes Team vorstellen.


Meet the team

Gert:

Wir sind immer wieder erstaunt, dass Gäste, die wiederholt eine Nostalgic-Reise buchen, derselben Faszination unterliegen wie beim ersten Mal. Es gibt offensichtlich in dem von uns kreierten Mix aus Landschaft, Strecken, Oldtimer-Erleben und Reise-Genießen Elemente, die sich an allen Nostalgic-Zielen wiederholen und bei den Teilnehmern die richtige Saite anschlagen. Auch bei sorgfältigster Planung kommt es gelegentlich zu Änderungen im Ablauf, wenn z.B. ein ganzer Ort für eine andere Veranstaltung gesperrt ist. Dann achten wir darauf, dass das Programm in seiner Gesamtheit stattfinden kann, auch wenn sich vielleicht die Reihenfolge ändert. Für die Zukunft von Nostalgic würde ich mir von unseren Gästen wünschen, dass sie noch stärker als bisher die Gelegenheit nutzen, die Reise zu bewerten und zu kommentieren. Nur das subjektive Feedback unserer Gäste hilft uns, Themen, die wir durch unsere Brille vielleicht übersehen, anzugehen und zu verbessern. Das beginnt bei der idealen Länge einer Tagesstrecke und geht weiter zur Wahl der einzelnen Menüs, von der morgendlichen Abfahrzeit bis zur Intensität der Stadtführung.


Walter:

Ein klassisches Automobil, egal welcher Marke, ist ein Stück Geschichte, und Geschichte hat mich immer fasziniert. Bei Nostalgic versuchen wir, eine schöne Momentaufnahme der Vergangenheit wieder zu beleben. Das gelingt völlig unabhängig davon, ob Sie am Steuer einer Giulietta Spider durch ein kleines italienisches Dorf fahren und auf der Piazza Cappuccino trinken, oder mit dem Mercedes-Benz SL „Pagode“ am Café de La Fontaine im Hinterland der Provence unterwegs sind. Ob Sie es glauben oder nicht, auch am Tegernsee erregen Sie mit unseren perfekt gepflegten VW Käfer Cabriolets eine gewisse Aufmerksamkeit. Wir wollen mit unseren Reisen die Kulisse für authentisches Erleben schaffen, einen Rahmen, in dem sich Gespräche zu zweit im Oldtimer führen lassen. Das schafft eine Nähe, wie sie gerade bei Incentives erwünscht ist, aber oft im Programmfeuerwerk fehlt. Es mag wie ein Widerspruch klingen, aber bei Nostalgic können Sie durch Gas geben entschleunigen. Auch nach 18 Jahren fühlen wir uns immer noch wie Gründer, die Richtung stimmt: aufwärts.


Lucie:

Als gelernte Reiseverkehrsfrau beim ADAC habe ich sofort zugeschlagen, als Nostalgic einen Junior Event Manager für das Büro in München suchte. Ich spreche Italienisch und liebe Italien, darüber hinaus Autos und insbesondere Oldtimer, und die Beratung von Kunden am Telefon macht mir sehr viel Spass. Es war eine tolle Herausforderung, unsere Gäste stammen aus aller Welt, aber dank ausgiebiger Produktschulungen und meiner Erfahrung im Reisebüro haben wir in einem kleinen, aber feinen Team alles im Griff. Ab und zu habe ich auch die Zeit und die Gelegenheit, selbst an Events teil zu nehmen, wobei ich die Dienstleister dann auch persönlich kennen lerne. Das erleichtert später so manche Klippe zu umschiffen in der täglichen Arbeit im Büro.


David:

Italienisch gelernt habe ich während meines Auslandssemesters in Turin, derzeit studiere ich im Master Eventmanagement an der dreisprachigen Universität in Bozen. Mein Reisehighlight war die Carl-Benz-Tour rund um Stuttgart, die Begeisterung unserer Gäste im Mercedes-Museum und die Ehrfurcht in den „Heiligen Hallen“ in Fellbach – sensationell. Obwohl mir die Alfa Romeo Oldtimer sehr gut gefallen, ist die Marke mit dem Stern mein Favorit, auch privat fahre ich einen Mercedes-Benz Youngtimer! Leider habe ich mir im vergangenen Sommer beim Street Surfing den Arm gebrochen und konnte die Sizilien-Reise zur Targa Florio nicht begleiten, aber 2020 steht die auf meiner Agenda.


Alex:

Bei meinen Nostalgic-Einsätzen zieht es mich in den Süden, obwohl mein Zuhause in den Dolomiten fürs Skifahren bekannt ist. Zum Glück habe ich in den Sommerferien schon immer in der großen Kfz-Werkstatt meines Onkels gearbeitet: beim Finish am Oldtimer macht mir keiner meiner Kollegen etwas vor. Das spannendste Autoerlebnis war, in der Mittagspause hoch über der Amalfi Küste mit Blick auf das azurblaue Meer einen Anlasser Motor zu erneuern. Wenn man sich auskennt, funktioniert das auch ohne Hebebühne. Sorrent ist unser Basislager für die Alfa-Romeo-Reise an die Amalfi Küste. Als wir für eine Luftaufnahme der Oldtimer unsere Drohne am Hoteldach in Stellung brachten, wurden wir von Möwen attackiert! Mein Favorit für ein unprätentiöses, aber authentisches Abendessen liegt am alten Hafen von Sorrent, „Z’Intonio al Mare“.


Ludwig:

Inzwischen bin ich der dienstälteste Reiseleiter, aber mein Bewerbungsgespräch war ziemlich holprig. Ich dachte, es wäre wichtig zu erwähnen, dass ich im Porsche-Cup mitfahre – beeindruckt hat das meine späteren Chefs nicht. Viel wichtiger war ihnen abzuklären, ob ich das Zeug dazu hatte, anspruchsvolle Gäste bei Laune zu halten. Gert und Walter, die beiden Gründer von Nostalgic, sind schwer in Ordnung. Sie schaffen es, ihre Teams zu begeistern und langfristig zu motivieren. Die häufigste Frage meiner Gäste in vier Dutzend Events war: „Welche Nostalgic-Reise ist die beste?“ Die Toskana, voller Postkartenmotive und Carlas göttlichen Tagliatelle al Tartufo in der „Bottega di Volpaia“? Oder der Lago Maggiore mit seinem 1950er Jahre Flair und dem Pavillon des „Castello Seeschloß“ in Ascona, wo die Mittagspause nicht lange genug sein kann? Vielleicht ist es doch Südfrankreich rund um Saint-Remy-de-Provence, die Abtei von Senanque und Gordes. Hier musste einmal kurzfristig das Roadbook über eine Etappe von fünfzig Kilometern kontrolliert werden – bei Nacht! So viele Füchse, Rehe und Wildschweine hatte ich vorher noch nie gesehen. Damit die Winterpause nicht zu lange dauert, scoute ich in Bayern einsame Voralpenstraßen für Fotoshootings mit den VW Käfer Cabriolets.


Julius:

Leider hat Nostalgic (noch) kein Riva-Boot im Einsatz, denn als Segler mit Hochseeschifferpatent wäre das dann mein Revier. Meine Lieblingsreise ist das Piemont. Weniger der Weine wegen, die man sich im Gegensatz zur Toskana auch noch leisten kann, als wegen der ursprünglichen, unverfälschten Landschaft. Es ist einzigartig, die offenen Alfa Romeos auf einsamen, schmalen Paßstrassen südlich von Alba Richtung Vicoforte zu steuern, wo man in schwindelerregender Höhe rund um die Kuppel der Wallfahrtskirche geführt wird. Anschließend noch das Mittagessen im freskengeschmückten Refektorium des Klosters – erstklassig. Ob ich einen Lieblingsoldtimer bei Nostalgic habe? Mein Favorit ist der Mercedes-Benz R 107, gerade mit Automatikschaltung ein Cruiser mit sportlichen Ambitionen, auch für groß gewachsene Fahrer äußerst komfortabel. Ich bin noch nicht so lange im Team, aber der internationale Mix der Gäste, die sorgfältige Vorbereitung der Reisen und die gleichbleibend hohe Qualität der Oldtimer machen die Arbeit als Reiseleiter bei Nostalgic zum absoluten Traumjob!


Christopher:

Nach meiner Ausbildung zum Elektrotechniker habe ich mein Abitur nachgeholt und studiere jetzt Geografie auf Lehramt. Autos waren schon immer meine Leidenschaft, daher habe ich den Job bei einem Radreiseveranstalter sofort an den Nagel gehängt, als ich von Nostalgic erfahren hatte. Wir kümmern uns im Wesentlichen um das „rundum-sorglos“ Gefühl unserer Gäste. Dafür laufen im Hintergrund eingeführte Prozesse ab, die sicherstellen, dass kritische Situationen auch in größeren Teams souverän gemeistert werden. Auf einer meiner ersten Reisen starteten wir mit fast 60 offenen Oldtimern zu einer Nachmittagsetappe. Es war bewölkt, aber nicht regnerisch. Nach wenigen Kilometern Fahrt brach völlig unvermittelt ein Wolkenbruch herab, alle Verdecke mussten geschlossen werden. Das war ein Spaß! Mein Lieblingsrestaurant finden Sie wahrscheinlich in keinem Führer. Die Trattoria „Don Santo“ in den Bergen westlich des Ätnas ist unscheinbar aber unglaublich lecker, schon allein dafür lohnt es sich nach Sizilien zu fliegen! In der nächsten Saison möchte ich gerne die Alfa-Reise durch die „Terra di Motori“ begleiten, ein spannendes Programm mit Automuseen und -Sammlungen, den Schlössern des Herzogtums Parma und den Produzenten von Parmaschinken und Aceto Balsamico. Empfehlenswert eine Verlängerung in Bologna, wo die erste Universität Europas gegründet wurde!


Chris:

Ein Surfer-Freund vermittelte mir den Job bei Nostalgic. Mit Oldtimern kannte ich mich nicht aus, aber handwerkliches Geschick brachte ich als gelernter Bootsbauer aus meiner Heimat Chiemsee mit. Der Job ist zwar nicht so einfach zu verbinden mit meinen Studienaufenthalten in Innsbruck, Porto und Utrecht, aber wer Reisen, Autos und Menschen liebt, ist hier in seinem Element. Die Technik an den Alfas aus den Fünfziger Jahren ist faszinierend, man kann hier noch reparieren, anstatt zu tauschen. Überhaupt der Sound – kein Wunder, dass Walter mit Hinblick auf die abgeklemmten Radios meint, hier spiele die Musik noch unter der Motorhaube.
Überhaupt sind die beiden Gründer absolut bodenständig und legen selbst Hand mit an. Wenn sie dann noch fließend in mehreren Sprachen zwischen den Gästen und den Dienstleistern in Italien oder Frankreich jonglieren, bekommt man ein Gefühl, warum Nostalgic immer mehr Gäste aus dem Ausland gewinnt. Eine meiner Lieblingsreisen war die VW-Käfer-Tour in die Wachau. Ein Weingut und Designhotel als Basislager, Traumstrecken entlang der Donau, mächtige Kloster mit imposanten Bibliotheken, und das Knattern der bunten Käfer-Flotte vor blauem Himmel – was will man mehr?


Leo:

Wenn ich nicht gerade mit Nostalgic auf den schönsten Strecken der Provence oder der Toskana unterwegs bin, geht es im selbst ausgebauten VW-Bulli zum Kitesurfen oder Speerfischen an den Atlantik oder nach Holland. Mein Geheimtipp: in Siena, um die Ecke der berühmten Piazza Il Campo, einen „caffé shakerato“ bei Nannini – das Beste für heiße Tage! Spannend sind auch exklusive Sonderreisen für US-amerikanische Kunden, die in einer Woche 1000 km durch Deutschland fahren wollen. Die Nachtwächter in Dinkelsbühl kenne ich beim Vornamen! Ich bin wohl der einzige Reiseleiter bei Nostalgic, der je eine Reifenpanne beheben musste – dann aber gleich im Feierabendverkehr auf der „Promenade des Anglais“ in Nizza. Da bleibt dann auch das viel gerühmte Wohlwollen anderer Automobilisten gegenüber Oldtimerfahrern auf der Strecke. Das Beste an Nostalgic sind nicht die Reiseziele und auch nicht die Autos – erste Sahne, keine Frage – sondern das Team und der Zusammenhalt. Ich bin gespannt, ob ich das in dieser Form in meinem Beruf erlebe, wenn ich demnächst bei Nostalgic aufhören muss und mich der Stadtplanung widmen werde.


Baris

Neben meiner Tätigkeit als Reiseleiter für Nostalgic arbeite ich als Fahrer für ein Mercedes-Benz Autohaus und engagiere mich in der Studentenvertretung. Bisher kam ich nur in der Toskana und dem Lago Maggiore zum Einsatz, aber das wird sich hoffentlich in der kommenden Saison ändern. Spannend für mich ist es, Gegenden kennen zu lernen, die ich nur vom Hörensagen kenne. Durch das Abfahren von Routen und Erstellen von Roadbooks gelange ich auch in die entlegensten Winkel. Das ist eine der Spezialitäten von Nostalgic: gerade in viel besuchten Regionen wie der Toskana Strecken auszusuchen, wo sich bestenfalls ein paar Einheimische auf den Weg machen, aber sonst kein Verkehr herrscht. Beste Voraussetzungen für die Fahrt in einem offenen Oldtimer!

Khari:

Mein Name ist Khari Henderson, ich bin 24 Jahre alt und in Albuquerque, New Mexico aufgewachsen. Deutsch habe ich schon mit 14 gelernt, und war auch schon in der High School in Deutschland mehrere Monate Austauschschüler, in Sigmaringen. Studiert habe ich an der University of North Texas in der Nähe von Dallas, Texas, und seit 2018 lebe ich in München und studiere Englisch im Masterstudiengang an der LMU. Natürlich liebe ich Autos, das fing an mit einem babyblauen 1969er Ford Bronco, den ich zusammen mit meinem Opa restaurierte. Nostalgic ist der perfekte Werkstudentenjob für mich mit richtiger Verantwortung: ich muss Deutsch sprechen und kann mich dabei jeden Tag verbessern, gleichzeitig bediene ich die steigenden Anfragen aus den USA persönlich und als Muttersprachler. Es macht richtig Spaß, am Erfolg eines kleinen, aber engagierten Teams mitzuwirken!


Thomas:

Seit ich einmal am Freitag spät nachmittags eine Reihe von Werkstätten rund um Draguignan auf der Suche nach einem Benzinschlauch abklappern musste, weiß ich, wie das Ding auf Französisch heißt: „durit“, gesprochen „dür-it“. Der Einbau war eine Sache von Minuten, wir mussten den Wagen nicht einmal vom Autotransporter heben. Langwieriger war da der Gast aus Südamerika, der unbedingt in Eigenregie das Verdeck einer „Pagode“ schließen wollte, dabei war ihm der Verdeckbogen in den Verdeckkasten gerutscht und bewegte sich keinen Zentimeter mehr. Generell warten unsere Werkstätten die Oldtimer derart vorausschauend, dass bis auf eine kaputte Glühbirne oder eine Zündkerze wenig unterwegs anfällt. Überhaupt Südfrankreich: die Touren in die Provence und die Côte d’Azur sind etwas für automobile Feinschmecker. Die Abwechslung zwischen mondänen Yachthäfen und malerischen Bergdörfern, dem azurblauen Mittelmeer und dem türkisfarbenen Verdon in der gleichnamigen Schlucht hat etwas. Mein Lieblingsort ist Arles, das zu Unrecht neben bekannteren Städten wie Avignon rangiert, aber in der Römerzeit eine der wichtigsten Städte Galliens war – und man sieht das noch an ganz vielen Monumenten. Absoluter Pflichttermin für das Abendessen ist Joel Toullier’s „Auberge du Vieux Village“ in Mallemort, am besten auf der Terrasse unter den Glyzinien!


Vincent:

Auch ich bin einer der jüngsten Reiseleiter-Neuzugänge im Team, aber ich konnte schon an zahlreichen Events in der ersten Saison mitwirken. Obwohl ich aus Hamburg komme, arbeite ich im Winter als Skilehrer an meinem Studienort Innsbruck. Von hier aus starte ich zu meinen Einsätzen in Italien und Frankreich für Nostalgic. Lieblingsrestaurant habe ich noch keines, aber eine bevorzugte Destination tatsächlich: die Toskana, egal ob im Alfa Romeo oder Mercedes-Benz, ist einfach die perfekte Kulisse für die Reisen von Nostalgic. Sowohl im Frühjahr als im Herbst machen die Ausfahrten richtig Laune. Wir Reiseleiter fahren zwar seltener im Oldtimer, und öfters in den Begleitfahrzeugen, aber der Job macht rundum Spass. Vor Beginn meines Studiums habe ich viel in der Security gejobbt, da lernt man einiges was auch als Reiseleiter hilfreich ist!

Lernen Sie unser Team auf einer Oldtimerreise kennen

Reiseziele